It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 4:06 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Displacement Water Reflection Tutorial
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:17 pm  (#1) 
Global Moderator

NOTE: This tutorial was taken in part from here. At the time, I had a little trouble sorting through those particular instructions on Flickr, so that inspired me to create the tutorial that follows below. However, Lucidlook had since created a more up-to-date tutorial (I am uncertain if he is the original author on Flickr) that can be found here. Although the steps shown below are the result of me hashing it out, I can't take credit for the original effect.

I'm a GIMP noob. Yeah, I admit it. Albeit, quickly becoming a hardcore GIMP'er and salivating over the upcoming release of version 2.8. Enough about that, let's get on with the tutorial… Let me first say, if you ever find yourself attempting a tutorial and you just "don't get it" as you're following along, or even worse – you download a script and have NO clue as to what to do with it, FRET NOT! Usually script authors will say something to the effect of "this script is based on a Photoshop tutorial, click link here…" If they do mention a tutorial, try to follow that tutorial as best you can – or – check my sitemap on Mahvin.com to see if I have covered it. I downloaded the Displacement Water.scm filter, followed the links offered by the author, and went over the instructions a few times. Not reading the instructions carefully makes a difference in whether you're going to succeed or fail in accomplishing the use of the script. That being said, because there was so much input on various links, it all got mixed and garbled in my mind, so I spent a few hours sorting it all out. If you don't have the Displacement Water script and want to follow along, follow the link to get it, but while you're at it, grab this mirror script by Saul Goode, too. The mirror script will save a ton of steps in doing the tutorial. Remember, this is