It is currently Sat Jul 06, 2024 6:13 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Stains on snake scales
PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2021 10:04 am  (#1) 
GimpChat Member

I took a series of photographs of a beautiful snake the other day. Pics are flawed in many ways - lighting, pose, focus, surroundings, etc, but the one thing that really ruins them for me is a couple of stains on the back of the snake that I should have wiped off before photographing it. How can you remove them? I expect it's fairly straightforward but I'm rather new to gimp and I have no idea where to even begin.

Here's a few of the pics:

Attachment:
P1080861.JPG
P1080861.JPG [ 2.9 MiB | Viewed 3406 times ]

Attachment:
P1080852.JPG
P1080852.JPG [ 2.82 MiB | Viewed 3406 times ]

Attachment:
P1080858.JPG
P1080858.JPG [ 2.99 MiB | Viewed 3406 times ]

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Orkut Share on Digg Share on MySpace Share on Delicious Share on Technorati
 Post subject: Re: Stains on snake scales
PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2021 1:49 pm  (#2) 
GimpChat Member

This was done in 2 or 3 minutes with the clone tool.

Attachments:
Snake.jpg
Snake.jpg [ 199.42 KiB | Viewed 3364 times ]
PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2021 4:42 pm  (#3) 
GimpChat Member

Hi krismunk welcome to this forum.
I saw a snake of about this size yesterday while I was metal detecting. I didn't bother photographing it because it was a deadly tiger snake, one of the world's most venomous. It spoiled my day. If you are trying to remove discoloration from a snake them don't do wild life photography because it will be fake. The world is full of fakes who have built a fake world that is disintegrating.
Play it like it is and show it like it is.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2021 4:48 pm  (#4) 
GimpChat Member

Blighty II wrote:
This was done in 2 or 3 minutes with the clone tool.

Thanks,