It is currently Thu Mar 23, 2017 9:11 pm

Latest GIMP Scripts & Plug-ins

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Animations - questions..
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:45 am  (#1) 
GimpChat Member

Hi everyone,

for my very first message I just wanna say how much I enjoy using GIMP and related stuff (GAP / G'MIC etc..), I'm no artist really but I do a lot of "abstract" images, and animation pieces which I sometimes put to music ...
Everything goes smoothly with the animations.. until.. (usually) around the point my xcf file is 2.1GB's in size. After successfully saving the project many times up until that point I eventually get a message telling me of some problem (see attachment) when saving.. if I try to reopen the file sometimes hundreds of layers will just be missing - I have successfully worked around it using different approaches each time including splitting images to frames and re trying, and a couple of other workarounds which can be long-winded and not always the best way to spend my time!! Anyway does anyone here know of anything that might be causing this problem and any solutions to it?
Grateful thanks.

Martin.

Attachments:
gimp crash.JPG
gimp crash.JPG [ 36.32 KiB | Viewed 773 times ]

Last edited by Zero01 on Mon Mar 06, 2017 4:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Orkut Share on Digg Share on MySpace Share on Delicious Share on Technorati
 Post subject: Re: Just one problem with animations..
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:07 pm  (#2) 
Script Coder

Is it a 32-bit Gimp version or a 64-bit one? What type of filesystem is the disk? FAT32? NTFS?

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 4:46 am  (#3) 
GimpChat Member

In addition, to get a full picture, some hardware details might assist. In particular installed memory and available drive space.

A 2GB file is a monster, from what I read there is a 4GB xcf limit in gimp, somewhere in the bug reports so still within limits.