It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 5:47 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: New GIMP logo
PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 8:51 pm  (#1) 
GimpChat Member

Hi. I've been working with GIMP for a few months already and I think it is a very powerful tool. You could say I kinda fell in love with open source graphic design software not only because is good, responsive, and complete, but also for the philosophy behind it.

Though I love GIMP, I think it has some flaws, as every software does, and one of those is its brand. Don't get me wrong, I love Wilber, but I think despite it being iconic at some level, it is also a little "weird". The current logo somehow "stoles" the professionalism intended for the software and it is not something only I am saying, on the internet you can find several users that think GIMP needs a new logo. There was a moment in the process were I thought it would have been good to create a new logo from scratch but then I realized I couldn't remove Wilber completely from the concept. That's why I tried to get to redesign the GIMP logo, based on two major facts:

1. GIMP needs a new image.
2. Wilber is a well known icon in the open source community and in the graphic design world.

So I decided that despite being a new logo, it wouldn't be a reinvention but a refreshing redesign.

I would love that my proposal gets to be the starting point for other designers to come up with new ideas for the GIMP brand, so we can share ideas and concepts, and of course get feedback from each other, and who knows, maybe the GIMP team accepts one of those proposals and we get a new branding for the next GIMP release. That would be awesome.

So here they are: