It is currently Sun Jun 30, 2024 5:06 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Python Troubleshooting Guide
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 4:08 pm  (#1) 
Global Moderator

One of my pet peeves is watching Python help discussions get watered down to a point that it's very hard to troubleshoot what may be causing the actual problem per individual user.

First, let me say, I am no Python expert. I don't pretend to know how to solve any Python related problem. However, I have been watching Python topics unfold, and like always, I see the topics break down into these "here's how I solved my problem, perform the following steps like I did..."

Now, that's fine and dandy if you have the "EXACT" same problem as that user. But keep in mind, not all users are going to read that and also perform their own Python troubleshooting steps BEFORE taking that specific advice.

I prefer Rod's method: "Let's see if your Python is communicating properly before we proceed" approach. That's how it should be done. There is a whole slew of troubleshooting steps a person needs to take before they just randomly uninstall and reinstall different Python versions.

Things like, do you even HAVE Python installed? Where is it downloaded to? If so, the executable file syndrome may or may not apply. (I'll never understand why Windows has this "on again, off again" relationship with Python regarding executable files, but maybe it's just not meant for me to know). And most importantly, does the Python console show in your GIMP filters menu? A checklist of sorts needs to be run through, before making any other determination.

The Python site doesn't have any help guides for GIMP installations, and the GIMP-Python site doesn't cover troubleshooting for installation problems, etc.