It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:04 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Add defined depth and viewable edges to text (rotate to view) - how?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 10:37 am  (#1) 
GimpChat Member

GIMP Version: 2.8.10
Operating System: Linux
OS Version: Netrunner 13
GIMP Experience: Intermediate Level

List any relevant plug-ins or scripts:
None at present.

I have been using Gimp for a few years now, and have used bump-mapping to give text strings the appearance of depth. Add reflection layers, warp on a cool pattern, then shadow layers, merge it all down and then tweak the perspective using curve-bend or the perspective tools, and it looks pretty good - but the problem is that you never see the edges of those characters which otherwise appear to have depth. Suppose I wanted to create a view from the foot of a cylindrical tower, with a message overhead which was not painted on, but bolted on? Obviously, the text characters would not be merged with the plane of the cylinder! Anyway, I think it would be really cool if I could create an object out of a text string, define the edge depth of the characters, and rotate it any which way to see it looking truly 3D with the edge thickness. Can Gimp do this out of the box, or does that require a plugin? If plugins are required, I know nothing at the moment about these, so I would appreciate some recommendations, and also advice on aquiring and installing Gimp programs for Linux.

Thanks.

EDIT: The above can't be too unusual, Gimp-supported or not. There's an old type of marquee screensaver (which I believe ran in popular Linux versions) which does the above, so you've probably seen it.

Last edited by MisterA on Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Orkut Share on Digg Share on MySpace Share on Delicious Share on Technorati
 Post subject: Re: Add defined depth and viewable edges to text (rotate to view) - ho