It is currently Mon Jul 22, 2024 12:16 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Simple photographer needs...
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 2:44 pm  (#1) 
GimpChat Member

GIMP Version: 2.8.10
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Experience: Beginner Level

Greetings,

I'm an amateur photographer who does not have a graphic-artist's eye. I can't draw and I am not artistic in this sense. I am, however, developing a talent for taking good pictures, seeing creatively (to an extent) — maybe more so seeing "a bigger picture" rather than seeing creatively, and making that work for me in my shots. Overall, my photography is more "street" and "catch it as it happens" rather than asthetic or graphically conceptualized.

I got a hold of Photoshop a few times and thought, "Oh my gosh, I don't even know where the ON button is!" Not only was it not intuitive, but it wasn't intuitive! I mean, I am not a graphic artist! Besides, it costs...well, more gold than even God has! Then I saw Lightroom, and that was it! I was sold, and it works wonderfully for me. But it's limited.

I'm now at the point where I need advanced image manipulation, which Lightroom cannot do: composite bracketed images; layering, better healing/cloning capability, and panorama creation. These are the most important issues for me.

What I don't need is the ability to create or manipulate images graphically, artistically (in the sense a painter or graphic artist does), or change images in any of these senses. As I say, I'm not gifted in these areas, nor are they the passions of my photography. Additionally, I don't think I'll need CMYK printing ability, and I don't think 16-bit capability is an issue right now.