It is currently Thu Jun 27, 2024 12:44 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Creating text (layer?) presets/profile?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2021 4:34 am  (#1) 

GIMP Version: 2.10
Operating System: Linux
OS Version: Mint
GIMP Experience: New User

Hey GIMP community, I am fairly new to GIMP but I might already have a rare question. Trying to process my photos from different countries and I'd like to add a text (name of the particular place and country) to the bottom right corner of all pictures. As much as I can I'd like to have this text in exact same spot with pretty much same settings (font, size, location) that I'd always need just to type the name of the place.
I've wondered if there are some sort 'presets' or profiles available in GIMP as they are, let's say, in RawTherapee for example?
Second solution, if I am not mistaken, could be creating a text "layer" with a text box and transparent background which I'd save as a project and could always add later on?
Or is there any other way I am not aware, yet? Thanks a lot for any advice.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Orkut Share on Digg Share on MySpace Share on Delicious Share on Technorati
 Post subject: Re: Creating text (layer?) presets/profile?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2021 10:57 am  (#2) 
GimpChat Member

Yes, you can do it, as long if you don't resize the layer, do a "Layer to image size" or "Export" the file as jpeg/png, you will have that Text layer box wherever you place it. Now, if by any chance you resize or do Layer to image size, if you click the Text layer, GIMP will prompt you to Edit the text or Create a new. Hopefully that answer your question.

P.s. Make sure you save the work as xcf. This is the GIMP native file.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2021 5:50 am  (#3) 

So I created a "New layer group" with a text layer and transparent background and saved it as xcf file.