It is currently Thu Jul 04, 2024 4:30 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Path
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2022 10:30 am  (#1) 

GIMP Version: 2.8.14
Operating System: Windows
OS Version: 10
GIMP Experience: Basic Level

Hi
I am relatively new to Gimp and am trying to make two images which mirror each other. The tricky part is I need to put text on it which is slightly curved going up from left to right on one image but going down from left to right on the other. I have one side done by using a path to create the curve and used the path to selection to get the text to sit as I want it.

I can mirror all the rest of the image but obviously need to remove the text layer as it goes the wrong way if you just mirror it. So what I tried to do was export the path and flip it onto the mirrored image, which I managed to do with a lot of playing around however the text comes out wrong.

Is there a way to export a path where the text goes on a curve up from left to right but flip it so when you add in the text it reads the right way going down from left to right.

Attachments:
image.png
image.png [ 37.54 KiB | Viewed 948 times ]
image1.png
image1.png [ 39.26 KiB | Viewed 948 times ]
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Orkut Share on Digg Share on MySpace Share on Delicious Share on Technorati
 Post subject: Re: Path
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2022 12:26 pm  (#2) 
Script Coder

You can have one curve path, put the text on it using text-along-path, then copy/flip the curve path (and the curve path only) (the transform tools can act on paths, 3rd icon in the "Transform" line in the tool options), and then re-run text-along-path to add text to the flipped version.

You can save yourself some head scratching and lots of tweaking by using my ofn-text-along-path script instead of the native text-along-path function (many formatting options, reverse path).

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2022 4:08 pm  (#3) 
GimpChat Member