It is currently Wed Jul 03, 2024 6:07 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: FX -Foundry Error message when refreshing scripts
PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:08 am  (#1) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug 24, 2011
Posts: 1785
Location: Dallas, TX
GIMP Version: 2.6.11
Operating System: Windows
OS Version: XP - SP3
GIMP Experience: Beginner Level

List any ERROR messages you received:
see image of error message



I seem to have some sort of conflict when refreshing scripts. Anyone else get this error?


Attachments:
Refresh scripts error.jpg
Refresh scripts error.jpg [ 45.74 KiB | Viewed 2291 times ]

_________________
Image
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Orkut Share on Digg Share on MySpace Share on Delicious Share on Technorati
Top
 Post subject: Re: Error message when refresing scripts
PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:36 pm  (#2) 
Offline
GimpChat Founder
User avatar

Joined: May 22, 2008
Posts: 5242
Location: Gimpville
Looks like the message is a conflict from FX-Foundry, which is not surprising. That project was pretty much a disaster. The peeps putting it together included older versions of a few of my scripts. The error message you are getting references "Glass Effect Text" script. Check to see that you don't have duplicates of that script. You should remove the FX-Foundry version and keep this version.

_________________
“If you reach for the stars, you just might land on a decently sized hill.” - Stuart Hill


Top
 Post subject: Re: Error message when refresing scripts
PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 1:10 pm  (#3) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug 24, 2011
Posts: 1785
Location: Dallas, TX
Thanks GNUTUX. I already had that one so after reading your post, I figured the conflict must be with one of these two.

GLASS_SCRIPT_FU_runs_on_on_2_4_by_kward1979uk.scm
glass_selection.scm

I removed all copies everywhere, even did a search and confirmed there were no other copies, refreshed scripts and no error message. I then placed the glass-text-v1-1 in my 2.0 scripts folder and the message popped up again. Evidently the conflict is somewhere else. Having said that, glass-text-v1-1 is only used from File>Create>Logos(gimpchat.com)>glass effect text and it only creates text correct?

Both of the ones I listed above work on anything selected, text or otherwise. I delete yours and there seems to not be a conflict between the other two. Your thoughts?

_________________
Image


Top
 Post subject: Re: Error message when refresing scripts
PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 2:05 pm  (#4) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: Jun 22, 2010
Posts: 1171
Location: Here and there
That error is most probably contained within the script glass-text-v1-1. Can you post either a link to where you got it from, or the contents of the script file please and we should be able to point out what is wrong.

Just as an example of a script that will give the same error message:

; this is the main routine
(define (script-fu-kp24_process_negs aimg adraw)
  (let* ((theImage aimg)
         (theLayer adraw)
         (imgList 0)
         (greenImage 0)
         (greenDrawable 0)
         )
     ; create a new image from the green channel (as this has least noise)
     (set! greenImage (car (plug-in-decompose 1 theImage theLayer "Green" 0)))
     (set! greenDrawable (car (gimp-image-get-active-drawable greenImage)))
     
     ; turn it into a positive and make it RGB   
     (gimp-invert greenDrawable)
     (gimp-image-convert-rgb greenImage)
     
     ; show the new image
     (gimp-display-new greenImage)

; flush the display
     (gimp-displays-flush)
  )
)

(script-fu-register "script-fu-kp24_process_negs"
          _"<Image>/Script-Fu/contributed/Process Negatives..."
          "Process B&W Negatives"
          "Me"
          "Me"
          "05/06/2009"
          "RGB*"
          SF-IMAGE "Input Image" 0
          SF-DRAWABLE "Input Drawable" 0
)

(script-fu-menu-register "script-fu-kp24_process_negs" "<Image>/contributed")


If it uses script-fu-menu-reigister then it shouldn't have the full menu path in the script-fu-register block:

Corrected code snippet:
(script-fu-register "script-fu-kp24_process_negs"
          _"Process Negatives..."
          "Process B&W Negatives"
          "Me"
          "Me"
          "05/06/2009"
          "RGB*"
          SF-IMAGE "Input Image" 0
          SF-DRAWABLE "Input Drawable" 0
)

(script-fu-menu-register "script-fu-kp24_process_negs" "<Image>/contributed")


Top
 Post subject: Re: Error message when refresing scripts
PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 2:22 pm  (#5) 
Offline
GimpChat Founder
User avatar

Joined: May 22, 2008
Posts: 5242
Location: Gimpville
Draconian wrote:
I removed all copies everywhere, even did a search and confirmed there were no other copies, refreshed scripts and no error message. I then placed the glass-text-v1-1 in my 2.0 scripts folder and the message popped up again. Evidently the conflict is somewhere else.

The error message states the conflict is from: <Toolbox>/Xtns/FX-Foundry/Logos .

Get rid of the FX-Foundry version and you should be OK.

Draconian wrote:
Having said that, glass-text-v1-1 is only used from File>Create>Logos(gimpchat.com)>glass effect text and it only creates text correct?

My script (Glass Effect Text V1.1) is designed to quickly create Logos from user input fonts/dings.

Draconian wrote:
Both of the ones I listed above work on anything selected, text or otherwise. I delete yours and there seems to not be a conflict between the other two. Your thoughts?

If I were you, I'd keep Glass Effect Text V1.1 for quick logo creation and kward1979's script, which I believe works off a selection. That covers all bases. I'd just dump the outdated duplicate FX-Foundry script that's causing the conflict.

_________________
“If you reach for the stars, you just might land on a decently sized hill.” - Stuart Hill


Top
 Post subject: Re: Error message when refresing scripts
PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 3:00 pm  (#6) 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Oct 06, 2010
Posts: 4050
The problem is caused by having multiple scripts (old and new) that have the same procedure names. Unfortunately, FX Foundry files are hard to find (that aren't identified as such, by the filename itself) so in Linux, I use grep to find the files with the same procedure names and remove the ones I don't want. Now, in Windows, I have no idea what the process is for doing the same. I don't recall ever being able to just remove an entire FX Foundry pack in one click (using Windows) but you can in Linux using Synaptic, but unfortunately it also removes all the Registry files as well.

_________________
"In order to attain the impossible, one must attempt the absurd."
~ Miguel de Cervantes


Top
 Post subject: Re: Error message when refresing scripts
PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:14 pm  (#7) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Apr 12, 2010
Posts: 5870
I warned Alexia at the very beginning of Fx_Foundry against change file script names but she preferrd go on editing original name

As far i know no way in Win to quickly identify conflcting clones osf script

@ paynekj

good tips that often happened to me when trying too quickly to edit the registration paths of scripts and i saw that also in several script but only now thank to your post i understand were exactly was the error

_________________
My 3D Gallery on Deviantart http://photocomix2.deviantart.com/
Main gallery http://www.flickriver.com/photos/photocomix-mandala/
Mandala and simmetry http://www.flickriver.com/photos/photocomix_mandala/

Image

Mrs Wilbress


Top
 Post subject: Re: Error message when refresing scripts
PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:57 pm  (#8) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: May 16, 2010
Posts: 14709
Location: USA
The old familiar take one of these out of the scripts folder error. :)

_________________
Image
Edmund Burke nailed it when he said, "The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."


Top
 Post subject: Re: Error message when refresing scripts
PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 11:18 pm  (#9) 
Offline
GimpChat Founder
User avatar

Joined: May 22, 2008
Posts: 5242
Location: Gimpville
I had a chance to look further into this and it turns out the glass-selection.scm script is based on the original glass text script I released some time ago. You probably don't need this script being kward1979's script does basically the same thing.

glass-selection.scm
;
; version 1.0 [gimphelp.org]
; last modified/tested by Paul Sherman
; 01/01/2010 on GIMP-2.6.8
; Create Glass Effect of Selection
; based upon glass-text.scm by Scott Mosteller


Below are the old versions of my scripts from FX-Foundry. You should dump all three of those and go with the new versions I have stuck here in the scripts section.
xtns-mosteller-glass-text.scm
xtns-mosteller-lava-logo.scm
xtns-mosteller-multi-effect-text.scm

That should fix your errors.

_________________
“If you reach for the stars, you just might land on a decently sized hill.” - Stuart Hill


Top
 Post subject: Re: Error message when refresing scripts
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 7:16 am  (#10) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug 24, 2011
Posts: 1785
Location: Dallas, TX
GnuTux wrote:
I had a chance to look further into this and it turns out the glass-selection.scm script is based on the original glass text script I released some time ago. You probably don't need this script being kward1979's script does basically the same thing.

glass-selection.scm
;
; version 1.0 [gimphelp.org]
; last modified/tested by Paul Sherman
; 01/01/2010 on GIMP-2.6.8
; Create Glass Effect of Selection
; based upon glass-text.scm by Scott Mosteller



Below are the old versions of my scripts from FX-Foundry. You should dump all three of those and go with the new versions I have stuck here in the scripts section.
xtns-mosteller-glass-text.scm
xtns-mosteller-lava-logo.scm
xtns-mosteller-multi-effect-text.scm

That should fix your errors.



Well that was it. I deleted those three and the glass-selection and the other two worked just fine with no error message. Many thanks to all of you :jumpclap

What about these other scripts? Are there any known problems with them?


Attachments:
xtns scripts.jpg
xtns scripts.jpg [ 36.57 KiB | Viewed 2155 times ]

_________________
Image
Top
 Post subject: Re: FX -Foundry Error message when refreshing scripts
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 12:02 pm  (#11) 
Offline
GimpChat Founder
User avatar

Joined: May 22, 2008
Posts: 5242
Location: Gimpville
Glad to hear your have the problem resolved. :2thup

Draconian wrote:
What about these other scripts? Are there any known problems with them?

Image

I can't really comment on specific scripts you have listed there but as PhotoComix mentioned, it was a big mistake for the packagers of FX-Foundry to rename those scripts from their original titles. There's no telling how many conflicts were caused by that decision. They also relocated where the scripts were registered on the menus and sometimes made arbitrary changes that resulted in broken scripts.

Personally, I think you're better off just dumping FX-Foundry all together. You could extract all the foundry scripts to their own folder and check them out one at a time. If you find a script you like, search down the original version and replace the bastardized FX-Foundry script with the original. That might allow you to avoid future headaches :hehe

_________________
“If you reach for the stars, you just might land on a decently sized hill.” - Stuart Hill


Top
 Post subject: Re: FX -Foundry Error message when refreshing scripts
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 12:38 pm  (#12) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: May 16, 2010
Posts: 14709
Location: USA
I use only the ones with FU in the beginning of the name and they all work pretty well. :)
No problems yet anyways *knock on wood* :)

_________________
Image
Edmund Burke nailed it when he said, "The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."


Top
 Post subject: Re: FX -Foundry Error message when refreshing scripts
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 12:48 pm  (#13) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Apr 12, 2010
Posts: 5870
Quote:
They also relocated where the scripts were registered on the menus and sometimes made arbitrary changes that resulted in broken scripts.

For sure ALL scripts that included & required some dependency (as for GnuTux script extra patterns and gradients, or as for Photo-Effect some extra Gimpressionist preset, or level or curve curves preset, or...) ALL went broken

_________________
My 3D Gallery on Deviantart http://photocomix2.deviantart.com/
Main gallery http://www.flickriver.com/photos/photocomix-mandala/
Mandala and simmetry http://www.flickriver.com/photos/photocomix_mandala/

Image

Mrs Wilbress


Top
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


   Similar Topics   Replies 
No new posts Attachment(s) Error message

2

No new posts Attachment(s) ERROR MESSAGE EDGES ADD MATTE

2

No new posts Attachment(s) ERROR MESSAGE WHEN CREATING AN OLDER TUTORIAL

12

No new posts FX-FOUNDRY

3

No new posts Attachment(s) FX-Foundry plug-in help

2



* Login  



Powered by phpBB3 © phpBB Group