It is currently Thu Sep 29, 2016 3:22 pm


Latest GIMP Scripts & Plug-ins

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Charcoal Script Reworked - UPDATED
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:06 am  (#1) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 06, 2010
Posts: 2794
First of all, this is my very FIRST attempt to actually try to accommodate myself with an existing script, namely the recent charcoal.scm (which me and Rod asked for leaving the original layer and working on a copy at the Registry). I'm sort of glad the author showed indifference because I knew eventually it would push me into trying harder to do it myself. So I did. Took me several hours, but I figured it out.

This script now gives you the ability to leave the original layer (tick new layer toggle) and to max the original layer to the new image size (tick Max original layer toggle) should you tick the Resize for optimum effect toggle.

I've added Saulgoode's suggestion to the script and resubmitted the zipped file. It will no longer require the extend layer script to work.

The Max Original toggle calls up Saulgoode's sg-extend-layer.scm script, so grab that if you don't have it.

http://chiselapp.com/user/saulgoode/rep ... tend-layer


Attachments:
charcoal.scm.zip [2.45 KiB]
Downloaded 173 times

_________________
Image


"In order to attain the impossible, one must attempt the absurd."
~ Miguel de Cervantes


Last edited by mahvin on Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Orkut Share on Digg Share on MySpace Share on Delicious Share on Technorati
Top
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:45 am  (#2) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: May 16, 2010
Posts: 12972
Location: "Looking for my eraser" =P
Lovely, thanks mahvin.

Image

I think if i were to select all the black in several dif layers i could color it nicely. :)

_________________
____________
Image


Top
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:01 am  (#3) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Apr 12, 2010
Posts: 5872
Do you maybe knows what the script does?
i may see the effect, i mean do you know how does that, which steps automatize ?

_________________
My 3D Gallery on Deviantart http://photocomix2.deviantart.com/
Main gallery http://www.flickriver.com/photos/photocomix-mandala/
Mandala and simmetry http://www.flickriver.com/photos/photocomix_mandala/

Image

Mrs Wilbress


Top
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:32 am  (#4) 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: May 22, 2008
Posts: 6890
Location: Somewhere in GIMP
I like having the original image preserved. Nice job, mahvin. :geek

Image

_________________
Image
"Oh, bother," said the Borg. "We've assimilated Pooh." Image


Top
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 10:07 am  (#5) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Apr 12, 2010
Posts: 5872
great on the tiger !

_________________
My 3D Gallery on Deviantart http://photocomix2.deviantart.com/
Main gallery http://www.flickriver.com/photos/photocomix-mandala/
Mandala and simmetry http://www.flickriver.com/photos/photocomix_mandala/

Image

Mrs Wilbress


Top
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:03 pm  (#6) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Feb 06, 2011
Posts: 343
I like this Mahvin. Thanks :)


Attachments:
charcoalHiefers 2005.png
charcoalHiefers 2005.png [ 217.04 KiB | Viewed 2390 times ]
Top
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:23 pm  (#7) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: Apr 23, 2010
Posts: 1554
Location: not from Guildford after all
mahvin wrote:
The Max Original toggle calls up Saulgoode's sg-extend-layer.scm script, so grab that if you don't have it.

http://chiselapp.com/user/saulgoode/rep ... tend-layer

It appears that whenever your version of the charcoal script calls the Extend Layer script, there is no selection present. If this assessment is accurate, it would be quite easy for your script to rescale the layer by itself, without calling Extend Layer (if there is no selection when Extend Layer is called, the script merely scales the entire layer to match the image size).

    (when (= max-original TRUE)
      (gimp-layer-scale drawable
                        (car (gimp-image-width image))
                        (car (gimp-image-height image))
                        TRUE )
      (gimp-layer-set-offsets drawable 0 0) )

_________________
Any sufficiently primitive technology is indistinguishable from a rock.


Top
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:03 pm  (#8) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 06, 2010
Posts: 2794
Saulgoode:

Couldn't you then tell it to unselect the image before scaling? I mean, I looked at different ways to make it scale, but wasn't sure what was involved in the procedures. But I knew your script performed the task. So, if I wanted to remove all selections first, then perform the code you have above, would that need to include:

(gimp-selection-none image) - ?

_________________
Image


"In order to attain the impossible, one must attempt the absurd."
~ Miguel de Cervantes


Top
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:19 pm  (#9) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: Apr 23, 2010
Posts: 1554
Location: not from Guildford after all
mahvin wrote:
... So, if I wanted to remove all selections first, then perform the code you have above, would that need to include:

(gimp-selection-none image) - ?

I may have missed something, but from my cursory examination of the (charcoal) script, there doesn't seem to be a selection active* at the time you perform your scaling. Performing a 'gimp-selection-none' would not hurt anything, but I didn't think it necessary (and if it were necessary then I should feel compelled to re-examine my understanding of what is supposed to happen).


* The preceding operations entail a Select By Color, followed by copy and paste. When the paste occurs (creating a floated selection layer), there is no longer any selection present (even though the display may show marching ants around the original selection), and there is still no selection present after this floated layer is anchored.

_________________
Any sufficiently primitive technology is indistinguishable from a rock.


Top
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:08 pm  (#10) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul 04, 2010
Posts: 1566
Location: Retired Moderator Slowly Returning to the Living.
When I can, I will try it out! I like the results! If you keep your original color layer, you can experiment with blend modes and see what sweet images you get!

_________________
Artists aren't crazy! We're eccentric! ~G.M. Ross

Image

My Sigs = My Photos
Check out my work at http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomastergreg.


Top
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


   Similar Topics   Replies 
No new posts Baptism Card (Reworked) Updated V2

14

No new posts Attachment(s) Guides to Path (scheme script, now python script more advanced).

26

No new posts Script and Plugin Menu Placement Points for script-fu and python-fu

8

No new posts Attachment(s) Add Guides In Range (.py script). Super simple script

2

No new posts Attachment(s) Help for expanding a script (Glass Frame Effect Script)

9



* Login  



Powered by phpBB3 © phpBB Group