It is currently Sat Jul 06, 2024 7:51 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Simple script to create RGB layers of the active layer.
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 9:56 pm  (#1) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: May 07, 2014
Posts: 4003
Location: Canada
This script will make 3 copies of the active layer and will name them
"Red Layer"
"Green Layer"
"Blue Layer"
and change levels of these 3 layers to represent what they're named for.
So for example "Red Layer" will only output Red color
and will set the "Red Layer" mode to Addition
and will set the "Green Layer" mode to Addition

So that we see the original active layer but we can work with these layers like as if they're RGB channels.
Script will be available under Script-Fu/Create New/RGB Layers
Attachment:
RGBLayers.scm [2.4 KiB]
Downloaded 200 times


So that you can move the layers around or do whatever you will with them.
Image
Image

_________________
TinT


Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Orkut Share on Digg Share on MySpace Share on Delicious Share on Technorati
Top
 Post subject: Re: Simple script to create RGB layers of the active layer.
PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 6:50 am  (#2) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: Oct 25, 2010
Posts: 4756
What is the difference with Colors/Components>Decompose (RGB)?

_________________
Image


Top
 Post subject: Re: Simple script to create RGB layers of the active layer.
PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 11:04 am  (#3) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: May 07, 2014
Posts: 4003
Location: Canada
decompose RGB gives you gray scale layers, so if you want to see its effect you have to compose back.
Where this allows you to see effect as you're working with these RGB layers.

unless there's a way to work with channels directly and see its effect directly that i don't know about. :oops:


this method is even described here --> http://www.gimptalk.com/index.php?/topic/54898-is-there-a-plug-in-to-move-colour-layers-separately/
by you (I am assuming that's you, offnuts, unless there are 2 offnuts :hehe )

_________________
TinT


Top
 Post subject: Re: Simple script to create RGB layers of the active layer.
PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 3:31 pm  (#4) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: Oct 25, 2010
Posts: 4756
Aw, yes, forgot that... I don't now how many "offnuts" there are, but there is only one "ofnuts".

_________________
Image


Top
 Post subject: Re: Simple script to create RGB layers of the active layer.
PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 3:38 pm  (#5) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: May 07, 2014
Posts: 4003
Location: Canada
ofnuts wrote:
Aw, yes, forgot that... I don't now how many "offnuts" there are, but there is only one "ofnuts".

:oops: my bad i am so sorry, with the double f's there

I ordered some 3D glasses to try to take double photos and composing them using channels or (RGB layers) like this script. This is why i thought this script would help me when i go edit how far these channels are offset horizontally when viewing the image with these glasses.
Because of your answer on that other site...that i ran into, this will help me out..i really didn't enjoy the process of having to decompose, move layers around in black and white and then having to recompose to see results if i had these glasses on.

So thanks for that answer on the other site.

_________________
TinT


Top
 Post subject: Re: Simple script to create RGB layers of the active layer.
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2016 7:15 am  (#6) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: Oct 25, 2010
Posts: 4756
On the other hand, you won't create a 3D effect just by moving colors channels...

_________________
Image


Top
 Post subject: Re: Simple script to create RGB layers of the active layer.
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2016 9:43 am  (#7) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: May 07, 2014
Posts: 4003
Location: Canada
ofnuts wrote:
On the other hand, you won't create a 3D effect just by moving colors channels...

You're right
But i'll be using 2 images(photos) from different angle like as if one image is looking from right eye and one image from left eye... then with my 3d glasses on... i'll be able to shift/move my red channel horizontally until it looks right...because without the glasses, i have no idea of how far apart i should shift/move my red channel.

I think the only difference between what i am doing and the real method is that i take the photos manually myself, and the real method requires you to have 2 cameras a certain distance apart and taking photos at the same time. So my method should work for still life objects, since i can't take 2 photos of the same object if it moves during the shots.

_________________
TinT


Top
 Post subject: Re: Simple script to create RGB layers of the active layer.
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2016 3:05 pm  (#8) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: Oct 25, 2010
Posts: 4756
trandoductin wrote:
since i can't take 2 photos of the same object if it moves during the shots.


http://www.kula3d.com/

_________________
Image


Top
 Post subject: Re: Simple script to create RGB layers of the active layer.
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2016 4:05 pm  (#9) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: May 07, 2014
Posts: 4003
Location: Canada
ofnuts wrote:
trandoductin wrote:
since i can't take 2 photos of the same object if it moves during the shots.


http://www.kula3d.com/

oh man that is awesome.
do you know if there's such a thing for a Point and Shoot Cannon PowerShot A700?

UPDATE: I emailed them and ask if they could make a future product for the Cannon Powershot and about $50.
$179 i think is a little steep for a piece of plastic and 4 flat mirrors.

_________________
TinT


Top
 Post subject: Re: Simple script to create RGB layers of the active layer.
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 2:34 am  (#10) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: Oct 25, 2010
Posts: 4756
trandoductin wrote:
ofnuts wrote:
trandoductin wrote:
since i can't take 2 photos of the same object if it moves during the shots.


http://www.kula3d.com/

oh man that is awesome.
do you know if there's such a thing for a Point and Shoot Cannon PowerShot A700?

UPDATE: I emailed them and ask if they could make a future product for the Cannon Powershot and about $50.
$179 i think is a little steep for a piece of plastic and 4 flat mirrors.


They have to be very well aligned mirrors, and the same level of optical quality as a DSLR lens. The price is reasonable compared to other things you can screw to you front lens, such as polarizing filters.

_________________
Image


Top
 Post subject: Re: Simple script to create RGB layers of the active layer.
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 10:33 am  (#11) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: May 07, 2014
Posts: 4003
Location: Canada
you're right the price is reasonable when i had my SLR camera.
it's just steep for me right now :hehe

_________________
TinT


Top
 Post subject: Re: Simple script to create RGB layers of the active layer.
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 1:19 pm  (#12) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar 28, 2016
Posts: 312
Location: Netherlands
trandoductin, thank you. It works and it is useful.

:bigthup


Top
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


   Similar Topics   Replies 
No new posts script to load text file and create text layer

6

No new posts Attachment(s) How to create and simple Easter egg using GIMP and G'MIC

17

No new posts Batch Create Layers

2

No new posts Create Layer Mask From

8

No new posts How do I script a new white layer to the bottom of the layer stack

7



* Login  



Powered by phpBB3 © phpBB Group