If they are actual solid colors (no gradients), Gimp can remove them with Colors>Color to Alpha.
This grabs solid colors and leaves transparency.
Or you can try
Select>Select by color
Make the color 6 zeros, 000000 Which is Black, and then go to Select>Invert>
Then Edit>Delete or Edit>Clear.
That should keep or retain the black color and remove everything else.Keeping your outlines.
Hope that helps! If we had an image of your coloring book that would be most helpful.
Welcome to Gimp Chat by the way.

Also the newest Gimp install is 2.10.38. Which in my opinion is better then 2.8.