It is currently Tue Sep 29, 2026 6:02 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HOW TO CREATEA NEON ANIMAL
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:31 am  (#1) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Sep 13, 2013
Posts: 32
GIMP Version: 2.8.4
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Experience: Beginner Level



Hello could anyone please teach me how create a neon animal the effect which makes it look like the animal is made out of light.


Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Orkut Share on Digg Share on MySpace Share on Delicious Share on Technorati
Top
 Post subject: Re: HOW TO CREATEA NEON ANIMAL
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 10:24 am  (#2) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Apr 12, 2010
Posts: 5870
you want create from 0 ,OR modify a photo or illustration ?

If the last you already found images that you think may be adapt ?
If yes could you show them.

AS General tip

Images that works well even if seen as silhouettes works well also for neon effect
you have just to
1) select the edges fill the selected edges with a light color , CTRL_C
2 ) Create a new transparent layer and paste
3) If a selection still active deselect , and blur (Filters>Blur Gaussian blur)

_________________
My 3D Gallery on Deviantart http://photocomix2.deviantart.com/
Main gallery http://www.flickriver.com/photos/photocomix-mandala/
Mandala and simmetry http://www.flickriver.com/photos/photocomix_mandala/

Image

Mrs Wilbress


Top
 Post subject: Re: HOW TO CREATEA NEON ANIMAL
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 12:11 pm  (#3) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Dec 27, 2012
Posts: 393
Location: England
It might also be worth taking a look at the Rodilius filter. It's one of the G'mic ones and can be found under artistic.

_________________
Image

DeviantArt gallery


Top
 Post subject: Re: HOW TO CREATEA NEON ANIMAL
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 12:49 pm  (#4) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov 09, 2011
Posts: 726
As you can see with what others have already said, there are many variations to do this.
Here my version, a single color:
Image

1- Cut the animal and copy to a new image.
2- Color Menu - Desaturate
3- Filters > Edge Detect > Edge
4- Select by color tool. Select a very white part. Copy selection to a new image or layer
5-Apply Filters > Alpha to logo > Neon
6- Play with the opacity of the layer Neon Glow

_________________
Image
Be patient, English is not my language.


Top
 Post subject: Re: HOW TO CREATEA NEON ANIMAL
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 12:57 pm  (#5) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr 07, 2010
Posts: 14182
Wow, they are both very good. nice job.

_________________
Image


Top
 Post subject: Re: HOW TO CREATEA NEON ANIMAL
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 3:25 pm  (#6) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug 30, 2012
Posts: 2174
Nice results everyone, I have seen a few of these over on Da, mainly tigers. They do remind me of the effect created by the Rodilius filter but they claim to be fractal photo maniputlations, which I have no idea about.

_________________
Image


Top
 Post subject: Re: HOW TO CREATEA NEON ANIMAL
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:18 pm  (#7) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug 30, 2012
Posts: 2174
Couldn't resist having a play in the end

Image

1. Download image from net and into gimp, added alpha channel.
2. Duplicated layer so I have three layers of the same image.
3. On bottom layer opened Gmic and went artistic>cubism, ran on default settings.
4. On middle layer opened Gmic and went artistic>dream smoothing, ran on default settings.
5. Still on middle layer added layer mask, made sure layer mask was selected and went filters>Render>Patterns>Chequer Board, changed size to 1 and clicked ok.
6. On top layer opened Gmic and went artistic>Rodilius ran on default settings.
7. Still on top layer went layer>Transparency>Colour to Alpha and changed colour to black and clicked ok.

Ideally your image needs to be on a black background so this might require cutting out the main part of your image first and pasting onto a black layer.

_________________
Image


Top
 Post subject: Re: HOW TO CREATEA NEON ANIMAL
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:35 pm  (#8) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov 09, 2011
Posts: 726
Very nice he4rty!

he4rty wrote:
They do remind me of the effect created by the Rodilius filter but they claim to be fractal photo maniputlations, which I have no idea about.

Here mine using Rodilius with smoothness.
Image

I guess once it has made ​​the job of edges detecting, there are infinite possibilities for "brrwsklly101" to experiment with it.

_________________
Image
Be patient, English is not my language.


Top
 Post subject: Re: HOW TO CREATEA NEON ANIMAL
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 5:17 pm  (#9) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul 17, 2012
Posts: 2769
i tried to make YAFU`s result stronger by removing the black, duplicating the tiger and then aplying value and alpha curves

Image

Image

Image


Top
 Post subject: Re: HOW TO CREATEA NEON ANIMAL
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 6:14 pm  (#10) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov 09, 2011
Posts: 726
Nice Esper. That has given it a good sense of movement.

I was thinking that here in the forum there are people who know how to work with fire/flames, this could be another variant.

_________________
Image
Be patient, English is not my language.


Top
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]



* Login  



Powered by phpBB3 © phpBB Group