Mainah_Ayuh wrote:
GIMP Version: 2.68
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Experience: Intermediate Level
During the past 7 to 10 days there has been an annoying "pop-up" message
that has been appearing when browsing the Gimp Chat Website.
The pop-up states that "Information from this secure page will be submitted
to a page that is not secure" etcetera. (screen capture image follows)
The Gimp Chat website is the only site at which this annoyance has been occurring
during my protracted travels across the Internet.
Research on the web indicates that the "Btrll.com" site is a search engine
similar to Google and Bing and is possibly an adjunct program of Yahoo.
Utilizing the DNS search engine Whois.com indicates that the "Btrll.com"
site registrar is godaddy.com & the website expires on 12-16-2016.
There are some websites that state that "Btrll" is possibly malware.
I am utilizing both Norton Security & Malwarebytes Anti Malware ver 2.2.2.1043
and neither program indicated any problems during scans of my work station.
Question(s)- Are the administrators(or users) of Gimp Chat aware of the cause ?
Have any other members seen this specific annoying pop-up ?
Anyone have success blocking this particular pop-up ?
That is most annoying.
Thanks for bringing this to our attention.
On behalf of the Gimp Chat Admin I apologize.
I myself haven't encountered this pop-up while here and regretfully,
I don't have access to this section of the administrative control's.
To be able to effect any kind of change/fix.
However,
I will forward your post to the admin.
In hops that something can be done about this issue.
Thank you
Mainah_Ayuh.